Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
The Crimson Guard


 
* *

Recent

Teamspeak

Loading... Progress
Need Voice Comms? 

User

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 20, 2017, 08:37:04 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Computer SLI Issue  (Read 2823 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Ikagi
GW2 Officer
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 248



« on: August 16, 2012, 12:17:20 AM »

I don't know if anyone is a Computer Expert out there but I can use some assistance solving this issue I will be grateful

The issue is that when I installed my 2nd Graphics Card(GTX 470) plugged in the computer won't turn on, but when I just put one Graphics Card on it everything works fine. I got a 1000w Power Supply and I know it more than enough for 2 card to run on it. This is my first time trying out SLI system on my computer and I cannot seem to be able find the issue.

Here is my entire specification of my computer:

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-965 Extreme Edition 3.2 GHz 8M L3 Cache LGA1366
CD: Sony Optiarc BC-5100S 5X Blu-Ray Player & DVDRW Combo Drive (Black Color)
CD2: 16X DVD ROM (BLACK COLOR)
FAN: CoolerMaster V8 Gaming CPU Cooling Fan (Extreme Silent Operation at only 22dBA + Overclock Proof)
HDD: Single Hard Drive (500GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM HDD)
HDD2: 1.5TB (1.5TBx1) SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 32MB Cache 7200RPM Hard Drive
MULTIVIEW: Xtreme Performance in SLI/CrossFireX Gaming Mode Supports Single Monitor
MOTHERBOARD: (3-Way SLI Support) Asus P6T Intel X58 Chipset SLI/CrossFireX Mainboard Triple-Channel DDR3/1600 SATA RAID w/ eSATA,GbLAN,USB2.0,IEEE1394a,&7.1Audio
MEMORY: 6GB (2GBx3) PC1333 DDR3 PC3 10666 Triple Channel Memory (Corsair or Major Brand)
NETWORK: Onboard Gigabit LAN Network
OS: Microsoft(R) Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium w/ Service Pack 1 (64-bit Edition)
POWERSUPPLY: 1,000 Watts Power Supplies Thermaltake ToughPower 1,000 Watts Power Supply - Quad SLI Ready
SOUND: HIGH DEFINITION ON-BOARD 7.1 AUDIO
USB: Built-in USB 2.0 Ports
VIDEO: NVIDIA GeForce GTX470 X2 1.7GB 16X PCIe Video Card
« Last Edit: August 16, 2012, 12:27:49 AM by Ikagi » Logged

Agile
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2750



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2012, 12:53:04 AM »

I'd first try plugging the NEW graphics card in by itself and make sure it works.

Do you have all the connectors in correctly?

I wouldn't bet the house on your powersupply still not being a problem...
Logged

Ikagi
GW2 Officer
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 248



« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2012, 01:07:36 AM »

I am currently using it right now, installing all the right drivers and running a benchmark on it.

So far so good...

So the graphic card isn't the issue
Logged

szalkerous
Guild Member
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 404


もういちど ください!


« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2012, 07:41:23 AM »

I'd agree with Agile on the PSU -- you should bench it to be sure.

Is the motherboard BIOS up to date? Looks like the latest is 1408, and was released quite a while ago, so this probably isn't a factor.

Both 470's are EXACTLY identical? Same clock speeds, same memory, etc?
Logged

Ikagi
GW2 Officer
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 248



« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2012, 12:28:29 PM »

Yeah I switch the new graphics card and ran the the usual 3D mark benchmark got all great scores. Everything is working fine.

I will be buying new cables and see if the PSU is still the problem.
Logged

Agile
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2750



WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2012, 01:22:46 PM »

Yeah, I'd buy one and keep the receipt.. if it fixes it, you know what the problem is...
Logged

szalkerous
Guild Member
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 404


もういちど ください!


« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2012, 01:32:37 PM »

I swear by SeaSonic power supplies. I've never had one fail, and have had to push one beyond 100% of rated load in a pinch before and it held up to the task.

Benching those PSUs produces some very stable voltage readings. Amazing how the industry runout on these PSUs is so wildly erratic. I've benched a BFG and a few Antecs and the readings were all over the place.
Logged

Ikagi
GW2 Officer
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 248



« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2012, 03:15:24 PM »

Roger I will buy a PSU and have it for stand-bye in case, and SeaSonic will be my choice.
Logged

szalkerous
Guild Member
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 404


もういちど ください!


« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2012, 03:49:29 PM »

I'll continue to consider your problem and see if I have any light bulb moments. We'll get it figured out!
Logged

WingAddictII
Guild Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2012, 05:45:55 PM »

Double-check in the BIOS, sometimes extra PCI-e slots can get turned off. And like szalkerous said, be sure the BIOS is updated.

Also make sure the cards are identical. If they aren't, they'll never work together. And be sure the SLI bridge is connected correctly. I've forgotten to put it on a couple of times when messing around inside the case.  Tongue
Logged
Ikagi
GW2 Officer
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 248



« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2012, 05:55:53 PM »

Good News, Issue Solved.

I went on buying new cables with the right number of pins for the PSU and VGA card and set it up according to the voltage and placement from the PSU to the Card. 

Apparently I was using wrong cables with the wrong number or pins on it, although it it looked like right cables to me.

Thanks a lot guys for the advice and lending a helping hand.
Logged

szalkerous
Guild Member
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 404


もういちど ください!


« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2012, 06:03:49 PM »

Awesome, glad you got to the bottom of it!
Logged

WingAddictII
Guild Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2012, 06:28:18 PM »

WOOT! Glad you are back in business and ready for GW2.
Logged
ThunderWalker
Guild Member
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 167



« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2012, 01:12:37 PM »

glad to see this resolved...



Logged


Deezz Nutz!
Agile
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2750



WWW
« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2012, 02:30:08 PM »

Woot!

No, really, woot.com has the best specials! Got my cyclone like vacuum from them...
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

 
*BoldItalicizedInsert ImageInsert Quote
* Smiley Wink Cheesy Grin Angry
Last 6 Shouts:
September 04, 2016, 01:28:32 PM
Wink Thespian - I am lucky I got me one of those! Tongue
August 23, 2016, 10:24:50 PM
Summer sux w/o a Racy women at your side
July 20, 2016, 08:39:04 AM
Hey y'all!! Hope everyone is having an Awesome summer!!!
July 06, 2015, 07:06:32 AM
Ha! Ark, eh? I played a little bit, neat little game! Jules is still playing it a lot. Smiley I've been dabbling in TSW, SWTOR and NW
June 09, 2015, 06:05:40 PM
I am there with you Ianhawk also playing a lot of RUST
June 09, 2015, 08:34:06 AM
Addicted to now playing Ark Survival evolved.
Show 50 latest

Stats

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 15372
  • Total Topics: 1845
  • Online Today: 5
  • Online Ever: 51
  • (February 27, 2013, 01:50:06 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 3
Total: 3

RSS GW2 Blog

TinyPortal v1.0 beta 4 © Bloc